Site Reviews 2010-2011

Listen To Your Heart by Cindy K. Green
Publisher: Champagne Books
Genre: Historical
Short Story (33 pgs)
Heat Level: Sweet
Rating: 3.5 Books
Reviewed by Deborah

Kit McCauley can hardly believe her eyes. Of all men, she believed Beau to be true blue and not one to step out with another woman behind her back. Sparks fly and secrets are revealed which just might be the undoing of her upcoming wedded happiness.

"Feisty, strong-willed, Katherine, "Kit", McCauley battling to keep afoot midst Beau Tucker the quiet storm. Never a dull moment for this unlikely pair. Kit and Beau's worlds collide when not seeing eye to eye. The respect that they have and their love for one another is unmistakable but kept secrets threaten to shake up their world.

Beau, solid as a rock, who would do anything to keep peace, but the burdens that he carries may cause him to topple off the high perch he so carefully plotted to obtain. He adores Kit, but the thought of being found out makes contemplate leaving her. Can he forgive himself and let go of what continues to torment him at every turn and face a future with the women that he loves or will a chance encounter send him back to a life he despises?

Kit is not like most girls her age; she is tough and strong but turns into mush at the brush of a kiss. The only man to capture her heart is Beau who loves her ways. He tells her, “don’t you go and make any changes”. He takes a lot of guff from Kit only because she makes him forget the past he so diligently tries to forget.

Both, Kit and Beau have an easy way of getting along and a laid back approach to the way they interact, spiced western style. You get that this is not a “city-fied” adventure, though you get a snippet of “the city”, there’s no lingering around to fully immerse yourself in that world. The story is totally about Beau and Kit and the dilemma that they both face. There are other characters that are mentioned but they are only there to point our two lovers on the road that leads them to a freedom from the past.

Author Cindy Green places you in the world of 1800's living, where women were in the beginning stages of protesting their rights, men were considered cowboys and the means of transportation was the use of a rickety buckboard. Ms. Green pulls you into a world of a different time and you get swept up in the era without being overwhelmed. This is the sequel to the book The Heart Never Lies with the continuation of Kit and Beau and their journey to their “happy ever after ending”. This book is a nice tale of unexpected redemption and forgiveness.

Author Cindy Green wastes no time in getting you to the point of the story in hurry and without all the unnecessary frills. If you don’t have much time on your hands then pick this one up. You're in for one heck of a time."

Review date Feb. 21, 2011
You can find this review at The Long And Short of It:

Siren Song by Stephanie Draven
Publisher: Harlequin
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal
Short Story (97 pgs)
Heat level: spicy
Rating: 4 Books
Reviewed by Deborah

When Chloe Karras sings, she knows that no one can resist her sensual allure—except for the sexy naval officer seemingly immune to her voice. But Captain Alex Shore is just the man she wants to take home after her performance—until he tells her what she thought were imagined powers are real...and dangerous.

Alexandros knows firsthand how seductive sirens are, as well as their potential to destroy. Yet the former sea soldier feels a powerful attraction to the beautiful rock singer that goes beyond her spell. Can he banish Chloe from the town he's vowed to protect—or will he be drawn into the siren's bed?
"Saucy rocker puts the moves on an unsuspecting man on a mission. Chloe Karrashas has the charms that knock most men off their feet but for straight-laced Alexandros “Alex” Shore, he’s infallible. Self-appointed defender of the cause, Alex is out to save the world. Can the teachings from another time help him find the one thing that could destroy him or could the trust he holds be the saving grace for what he’s longing for?

A tale wrapped in a land of magical places, splendid wonder and calming blue waters, home to rulers of the deep, and kingdoms of ancient times. From the depth of the seas a soldier appears as the deciding factor in another’s life. That’s his story. Alex is a man looking for a way out of the torment he endures while becoming captivated by a melody so sweet that it melts him into submission.

We have two people -- Chloe and Alex -- always at odds with one another. Chloe, who's looking for a good time and Alex, who will do anything to stop her self-destructive ways. Just another love / hate relationship? No, this goes beyond the everyday dilemma of boy meets girl. The characters here tell a story about commitment to duty and lessons learned when taking a chance on the unknown.

On land and sea, author Stephanie Draven gives you a glimpse of forgotten times when worshipping the gods was a privilege. This is a fanciful tale of magic with a mix of whimsy thrown in. There are some dark moments that bring you back to reality, giving the plot some credence.

An impossible story? Yes, of course -- it's a paranormal, but once you let your mind wander a bit, you'll find yourself smiling at it all. If you’re wanting something with a bit of mysticism, then this one’s for you. A true page turner that kept my interest until the end. I enjoyed the wonder of the plot and I think you will too. Go out and get this one."

Review date Feb. 15, 2011
You can find this review at The Long And Short of It: 

Transatlantic Loving by Rachel Brimble
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Genre: Contemporary
Short Story (81 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 4 Books
Reviewed by Deborah 

In a desperate bid to escape the bitter reality of her children accepting her ex-husband’s new – and younger – fiancée, Lisa Cavendish travels from the UK to accompany her friend to a high school reunion. The last thing she expects is to fall in love with the school soccer coach who, it appears, holds as much regard for his child as her ex did when he walked out on them.

Aaron Taylor can’t believe his eyes or ears when he is introduced to Lisa. Sexy and funny, she has no idea how her accent enhances the heartbreak he endures waiting for his daughter to ask him to return to the UK. But after spending three short weeks with Lisa, he sees the answer to his pain in the eyes of the most phenomenal British lady he has ever met.
"Cagy, panther like, and on the prowl for the nervous, unsuspecting English dove. Wrong impressions marks for a disastrous beginning for Lisa Cavendish and Aaron Taylor. Their pasts are similar, giving them a common bond but is that enough to form a relationship or will that be the catalyst of their downfall?
An easy going, likeable person, with a quick smile, Aaron is someone you would want next door. He’s a man’s man, comfortable in his own skin and not afraid of showing emotion…but is there more to Aaron than meets the eye? This story captures the young at heart, but there’s an ever present cloud looming overhead of past heartache and regret.
The playful banter and off-handed remarks between Aaron and Lisa are quite amusing and helps with keeping the story on a light note. And then there’s the enjoyable extras, Courtney and the school kids, that are present at every turn.
Author Rachel Brimble gives us the quaint town of Summerville, with its coffee shop Sips and Lakeshore Boulevard. Down home sites, sounds and old acquaintances makes for a mix of nostalgia and new beginnings that keeps you captivated to the end. A sweet take on a familiar subject that will keep you involved and routing for a happy ending. Pick this one up, you’re in for some nice moments."
Review date Jan. 7, 2011
You can find this review at The Long And Short of It:

Her Italian Prince by Kate Hofman
Publisher: DCL Publications
Genre: Contemporary
Full Length (311 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 3 Books
Reviewed by Deborah 

Gianfranco was glad he had accepted the invitation of his friend, Tom Fredericks, the owner of the St.George Art Gallery. The afternoon preview for an exhibition of Adrian Elliott’s paintings was now in full swing. Gianfranco admired the painter, and it was a relief being among people where an Italian princely title didn’t matter. He sighed. It was also a relief having escaped unscathed from his Aunt Flavia’s well-meant, determined attempts to marry him off to a woman she thought suitable. Not in a zillion years would he tie himself to a vain, promiscuous, malicious clothes horse like Luciana Scotto. Strange that his aunt did not seem to realize what Luciana was. Gianfranco shrugged imperceptibly. Flavia had led a sheltered, pampered existence, protected from life’s rougher edges by her beloved Nìccolo. I should tell her that I don’t want her to move from the Palazzo. It would be too much of a wrench for her, and I like my own house far better.

"Old world charm meets modern sophistication in a series of plots and devious manipulations, reveling a bond nether Gianfranco di San Benedetto and Suzanne de Beauvior can deny. Their undeniable passion for one another takes them beyond the reality of their circumstances to an awaking of love that’s strong enough to keep them together, but comes with the ultimate price, testing their new found love.
Gianfranco is a prime example of the ultimate male. He oozes sex appeal without trying, and he knows how to please a women. Can be a handful and exhausting at times, but are his ‘talents” enough to achieve his goal?
Suzanne and Gianfranco are both perplexing characters, but with a since of style that plays off each other well. The topic and sometimes off handed dialogue are a bit over the top, but that gives this story substance. Secondary characters bring in needed humor at pivotal points that sets the tone for the plot.
I must admit this is my first book by Kate Hofman. The author gives the reader a glimpse of European society and how aristocrats live, but the story lacks something when it comes to setting the scene. There were so many sights that crossed the characters paths, and there weren’t descriptive passages of these places to pull me into the story, to give essence, some ambience. But as I read more I became to care more about both characters in less concerned with wanting the story to take me to an exotic place. The focus here was not the sights and sounds of the surroundings but of Suzanne and Gianfranco and their relationship towards one another…which for me became the real essence of the story.
Her Italian Prince is a fast paced roller coaster of a ride that slows to a calm stream. The overall feelings that I got from this book sneaked up on me in a lovely way. Buy the book, you won't be disappointed."
Review date Dec. 10, 2010
You can find this review at The Long And Short of It:

Dream Lover by Sarina Wilde
Publisher: Wild Rose Press
Genre: Contemporary
Short Story (51 pgs)
Rating: 5 Cherries
Reviewed by Deborah 

Allie Franklin’s on a flight to interview for the job that could skyrocket her career. The last thing she expects is to meet the man of her dreams. Now he’s sitting in the seat next to her and she knows it’s an opportunity she can’t pass up.

Tom Armstrong’s focused on his career as a doctor and the interview at the hospital that will clinch his new job, but he’s more than willing to make Allie’s dreams come true.

Neither one expects more than one night of pleasure. But what if one night is not enough?

"Pages are on fire! Turn a page and be assaulted with pure, raw heat that radiates from the world of a dreamer. On a chance encounter, Allie Franklin and Tom Armstrong throw all caution to the wind while exploring their sexual desires. In the friendly skies, and down below, nothing gets in the way of the urge to fulfill their daydreams…but to dream is safe, as long as it remains a dream.

“Life had a way of throwing curve balls when you least expected them.”

Allie and Tom were thrown for a tremendous loop that landed them into each other’s arms. Both beautiful, sexy, and career oriented…two characters who speak in volumes, not by words, but through the use of their other senses: taste and touch. Their lusting is just that; love, and falling in love for these two may not be high on the list.

The story brings in a familiarity of settings of planes, cabs, and bars, giving nuance and flavor. Ms. Wilde has penned a fast paced story that kept me eager to see what came next. Yes, it's short, but packed with enough passion and sexual play to keep me tuned in. Obviously, the plot can be figured out, but it's the interaction between both characters that will keep you glued to the book. I wish that the author could have written a couple more pages...but as they say, all good things must come to an end. Well worth the read."

Review date Dec. 1, 2010
You can find this review at The Long And Short of It:

His Redeeming Bride by 
Ruth Ann Nordin 
Genre: Historical Romance
Publisher: CreateSpace
Rating: 5 Stars
Reviewed by Deborah

Seven years after Eye of the Beholder ends, Neil Craftsman's story begins. When Sarah Donner learns she's pregnant, she hopes this blessing will be the thing to make her husband finally love her. But to her horror, he announces that she will go live with her overbearing mother-in-law. Weeks before she is due to give birth, they are traveling to her mother-in-law's when some thieves kill him. Ready to give birth, she has to rely on the aid of the one man others had warned her about: Neil Craftsman. She knows of his tarnished past, and no respectable woman will go near him. But when she learns her husband left her with no home and no money, she has nowhere else to go but to the one man she's shunned. As she gets to know Neil, she learns that there is more to him than meets the eye. But when his past comes back to haunt him, will her newfound love be enough to redeem him - or will he always be a shunned man?
"Nebraska, late 1800's...
Sarah Donner is a young women, married, pregnant and in a loveless marriage. Jim Donner, Sarah’s unconcerned, duty bound, older husband who only married Sarah because her sister, who he was engaged to ran away to marry another man...hmm. Yes. That should have been a sign to Sarah to run away too. Hoping that her marriage will take a turn for the better, Sarah tells her husband of her impending birth only to be slammed with a lack luster attitude, leaving Sarah in an ever emotional wreck then she already was.
Luckily for Sarah, Jim has this idea that she would need to stay with his mother until after the birth so she could “adjust to motherhood!” Did I read that write? I guess so, the rights of man in the 1800’s! Knocked down without ever having to fight, but of course Sarah agrees, like she had a choice. They pack the wagon, hitch the horses and take that bumpy road to the soon-to-be grandma’s house, Jim’s meddling mother, Beatrice.

It’s now during this trip to the house of no return that the turning point and I do mean in a good way starts to happen for our love starved Sarah. Taking that green mile ride to Beatrice’s house, Sarah and the dutiful husband Jim get caught by a couple of robbers, and I might add a couple of idiots who didn’t steal a thing…
Alas, but they did….in the end they stole away a life that could have been as a submissive wife, were the man makes the decision, the women’s place is in the kitchen, and to do as you’re told. What they gave back to Sarah was freedom, hope, and love.

Love comes in the form of sinner, prostitute solicitor, the scandalous, Neil Craftsman.

Each key character in this story, from Sarah to Neil, and ones that’s not mentioned all have their onset of emotional baggage, but the author manages to attach that fine thread linking each individual person together by a mixture of emotions as old as time itself. Funny and sad at times with just a bit of sexiness thrown into the mix.

I won’t give to much away. Just hope I got you interested enough to take a peek. Author, Ruth Ann Nordin phasing of words, and knowledge of the era makes it all come to life."

Review date Nov. 24, 2010
You can find this review at Night Owl Romance:


Kristin said...

Deborah Thanks so much for coming by my blog! Did I mention that I think your blog is absolutely gorgeous? Have a wonderful week!

Kristin MyBookishWays

Susan said...

All that in 51 pages - wow! Sounds exciting!

By Susan Fields on Dream Lover
on 1/22/11

Shah said...

Great review - I'm following from book blog - you can find me at - Shah. x
By shah wharton on Dream Lover
on 1/18/11

Barb said...

Wow! Excellent review! I think I'm going to have to add this one to my wish list! Thanks :)
By Barb on Dream Lover
on 1/17/11

Dana said...

On a different track entirely, I just wanted to let you know I awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award. Pop by my blog for deets. Best, Dana @
By Dana Wright on Dream Lover by on 1/14/11

Sarina Wilde said...

Thank you so much for the great review!
By Sarina Wilde on Dream Lover
on 1/13/11

Siobian said...

This looks like a really good book; I'll have to try it! Found you at book blogs and I think you have got a gorgeous background! I'm looking forward to reading more of your reviews. Siobian
on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/11/11

DJ Womack said... I will surely buy this book. I'm a follower of your from this point forward. djwomack
By Anonymous on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/10/11

Universe in Words said...

Heey Found you on BookBlogs!! I'm a new follower!! I love your background, I'm a huge fan of these paintings!! BTW, I got a great giveaway of a romance-novel!! Hop over here: And enter!!
on 1/8/11

Laurie said...

Hello, Thanks so much for visiting my blog and becoming a follower of it. I am a new follower of yours and look forward to reading your reviews and any other posts.
By Laurie on Transatlantic Loving on 1/8/11

Tigerlily said...

Your blog is beautiful!!! I look forward to enjoying your reviews! And thank you for the follow!
By TigerlilyRose on Her Italian Prince
on 1/7/11

Ing said...

Sounds good. Will have to add to my list. Great blog. Found you at book blogs. Following you now. Have a great weekend.
By Ing on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/7/11

Rachel Brimble said...

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, Blue Bonnet - I am thrilled! So glad you enjoyed the story and hope that you go on to read and review others in the Class of '85 series. Thanks Jannine & I wish I knew who you were anonymous, so i could thank you properly, LOL! Best Rachel x
By Rachel Brimble on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/7/11

Anonymous said...

I couldn't agree more, this is a great story.
By Anonymous on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/7/11

Jannine said...

Your review is spot on. This is a terrific story in a wonderful series.
By Jannine Gallant on Transatlantic Loving
on 1/7/11

Anonymous said...

Anonymous... Congrats on a Great Review, I will buy this book for sure. Anonymous on Her Italian Prince
on 12/15/10